My why……

We have to share our thoughts as to the why of learning something completely new in our spare time.

I acknowledge it is hard to learn something totally out of my own comfort zone, as well as actually start and finish something! (I’m great at starting, not so great at finishing….think diet, gym, vege gardening, tidying my bedroom, assessments, books, the list goes on!)

Here are our thought-provoking questions that I had to answer as an introduction to our new spare time hobby ……

Occupational Science

Learnt Occupation Plan

 

This plan needs to be submitted and approved before students can engage in their occupation of choice. This plan will guide your presentation in academic week 11

 

Student name

 

Meg Macfie

Group no

 

BT601001 Group B

 

Write one or two sentences about each of the following aspects of you learning this occupation.

 

Consider: Lecture content and chapter three from Christiansen and Townsend.

 

 

What is your chosen occupation: name, describe the occupation you plan to learn?

 

I am renewing /restoring large furniture pieces. I have purchased a desk and a set of drawers to sand back and repaint to invigorate life back into them and make them acceptable pieces to have in the home

 

 

How would you classify your occupation?

I would classify my occupation of restoration as a blend of productivity and pleasure.

 

 

Why do you want to learn/engage in this occupation? What will be the value to you?

 

I will be able to satisfy my need to create to produce a form of end product. I will be by exploring who I am and express my own person in the form of recreated pieces. I can see myself developing the person I want to be, as a hands on OT making the most of things with minimal cost. With joining a group, I will feel the need to belong, and establish my place within the upcycling community. Focusing on these values I can do, be, become and belong (Wilcock, 1999) to facilitate and enhance my own participation and provide meaning to my spare time I will be able to switch off from other stressors and focus on creativity

 

What do you hope to be able to do after learning the occupation?

 

 

I hope to continue upcycling for friends and family and then be able to integrate this into my practice by adapting the level of requirements and utilise it into whichever field of OT I am lucky enough to end up in. The uniting of my learned spare time occupation and my future practice is perfect synchronicity. The application of using fine and gross motor skills, sensory processing with different tactile experiences and adapting the upcycling to any age will be long term advantageous to most age groups and developmental levels.

 

When will you learn this occupation?

 

(Evening classes on Tuesdays at Clubs and Socs, at my grandmother’s on holiday….)

 

 

 

The learning process has already begun. Selecting a piece from the dump shop and I have been given another piece for free. I ensured that they were sturdy and solid and had a realistic amount of improvement required. I am planning on dedicating my spare time learning, and plan to dedicate at least 3 hours per week over the next 5 weeks, and at least an hour a week on my blog.

Where will you learn it?

 

 

 

 

I will be doing this in my garage at home. Accompanied with this, I will take a class on upcycling. I plan on dedicating 5 hours per week on this project, and an hour a week on my blog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who will teach you or how will you learn this?

This will be mainly self-directed journey, but will take a course to help me as well in Tauranga in April.
Recording your Participation

 

What medium have you chosen to record your participation?

 

(e.g. photo journal, common place book, blog….)

 

A journal and blog. My blog will include links to other sites and resources that have helped me. This blog is called https://renewthisrenewme.wordpress.com/

As well as this, I have set up a facebook and Pinterest page to compliment and upload this blog, acknowledging that Facebook is an easier medium for people to search and view. I have never done any recording this way so this is part of my learning journey as well.
What is your chosen occupation: name, describe the occupation you plan to learn?

 

I am renewing /restoring large furniture pieces. I have purchased a desk and a set of drawers to sand back and repaint to invigorate life back into them and make them acceptable pieces to have in the home

 

 

How would you classify your occupation?

I would classify my occupation of restoration as a blend of productivity and pleasure.

 

 

Why do you want to learn/engage in this occupation? What will be the value to you?

 

I will be able to satisfy my need to create to produce a form of end product. I will be by exploring who I am and express my own person in the form of recreated pieces. I can see myself developing the person I want to be, as a hands on OT making the most of things with minimal cost. With joining a group, I will feel the need to belong, and establish my place within the upcycling community. Focusing on these values I can do, be, become and belong (Wilcock, 1999) to facilitate and enhance my own participation and provide meaning to my spare time I will be able to switch off from other stressors and focus on creativity

 

What do you hope to be able to do after learning the occupation?

 

 

I hope to continue upcycling for friends and family and then be able to integrate this into my practice by adapting the level of requirements and utilise it into whichever field of OT I am lucky enough to end up in. The uniting of my learned spare time occupation and my future practice is perfect synchronicity. The application of using fine and gross motor skills, sensory processing with different tactile experiences and adapting the upcycling to any age will be long term advantageous to most age groups and developmental levels.

 

When will you learn this occupation?

 

(Evening classes on Tuesdays at Clubs and Socs, at my grandmother’s on holiday….)

 

 

 

The learning process has already begun. Selecting a piece from the dump shop and I have been given another piece for free. I ensured that they were sturdy and solid and had a realistic amount of improvement required. I am planning on dedicating my spare time learning, and plan to dedicate at least 3 hours per week over the next 5 weeks, and at least an hour a week on my blog.

Where will you learn it?

 

 

 

 

I will be doing this in my garage at home. Accompanied with this, I will take a class on upcycling. I plan on dedicating 5 hours per week on this project, and an hour a week on my blog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who will teach you or how will you learn this?

This will be mainly self-directed journey, but will take a course to help me as well in Tauranga in April.
Recording your Participation

 

What medium have you chosen to record your participation?

 

(e.g. photo journal, common place book, blog….)

 

A journal and blog. My blog will include links to other sites and resources that have helped me. This blog is called https://renewthisrenewme.wordpress.com/

As well as this, I have set up a facebook and Pinterest page to compliment and upload this blog, acknowledging that Facebook is an easier medium for people to search and view. I have never done any recording this way so this is part of my learning journey as well.

What is your chosen occupation: name, describe the occupation you plan to learn?

I am renewing /restoring large furniture pieces. I have purchased a desk and a set of drawers to sand back and repaint to invigorate life back into them and make them acceptable pieces to have in the home

How would you classify your occupation?

I would classify my occupation of restoration as a blend of productivity and pleasure.

Why do you want to learn/engage in this occupation? What will be the value to you? 

I will be able to satisfy my need to create to produce a form of end product. I will be by exploring who I am and express my own person in the form of recreated pieces. I can see myself developing the person I want to be, as a hands on OT making the most of things with minimal cost. With joining a group, I will feel the need to belong, and establish my place within the upcycling community. Focusing on these values I can do, be, become and belong (Wilcock, 1999) to facilitate and enhance my own participation and provide meaning to my spare time I will be able to switch off from other stressors and focus on creativity

What do you hope to be able to do after learning the occupation?

I hope to continue upcycling for friends and family and then be able to integrate this into my practice by adapting the level of requirements and utilise it into whichever field of OT I am lucky enough to end up in. The uniting of my learned spare time occupation and my future practice is perfect synchronicity. The application of using fine and gross motor skills, sensory processing with different tactile experiences and adapting the upcycling to any age will be long term advantageous to most age groups and developmental levels.

When will you learn this occupation?

(Evening classes on Tuesdays at Clubs and Socs, at my grandmother’s on holiday….)

The learning process has already begun. Selecting a piece from the dump shop and I have been given another piece for free. I ensured that they were sturdy and solid and had a realistic amount of improvement required. I am planning on dedicating my spare time learning, and plan to dedicate at least 3 hours per week over the next 5 weeks, and at least an hour a week on my blog.

Where will you learn it?

I will be doing this in my garage at home. Accompanied with this, I will take a class on upcycling. I plan on dedicating 5 hours per week on this project, and an hour a week on my blog.

Who will teach you or how will you learn this?

This will be mainly self-directed journey, but will take a course to help me as well in Tauranga in April.

Recording your Participation

What medium have you chosen to record your participation?

(e.g. photo journal, common place book, blog….)

A journal and blog. My blog will include links to other sites and resources that have helped me. This blog is called https://renewthisrenewme.wordpress.com/

As well as this, I have set up a facebook and Pinterest page to compliment and upload this blog, acknowledging that Facebook is an easier medium for people to search and view. I have never done any recording this way so this is part of my learning journey as well.

Leave a Reply

